Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
The Chamber, Leading Business in Cabarrus announces Leadership Cabarrus, Class of 2021

The Chamber, Leading Business in Cabarrus announces Leadership Cabarrus, Class of 2021

  • Updated

The Chamber, Leading Business in Cabarrus, is proud to announce the 28 participants in the 2021 Class of Leadership Cabarrus. The civic leadership program, sponsored by Duke Energy, is designed for business, nonprofit and community leaders to learn more about the assets, challenges, resources and needs within the Cabarrus County region.

Leadership Cabarrus, Class of 2021 began its year in August with a two-day retreat, including team building, at Cedar Grove Retreat with Capstone Climbing and Adventures, building foundational skills in implicit bias and diversity, equity and inclusion training, and reviewing Cabarrus County’s 2020 Needs Assessment. Their monthly days began in September and will  end in May.

“Leadership Cabarrus has been a signature program of the Chamber since 1989, and we couldn’t be prouder of it, the wonderful alumni that pilot the steering committee, and the class participants,” said Barbi Jones, executive director, The Chamber. “Our graduates are always amazed at the depth of community knowledge they amass, along with professional and personal connections. Through the years, the classes’ legacy projects have added quality of life benefits ranging from recreational opportunities, nonprofit program enhancements and educational support.”

Duke Energy is the title sponsor for Leadership Cabarrus. “Duke is proud of the communities we serve, and we are happy to invest in the The Chamber and this meaningful program that develops our communities’ and businesses’ future leaders,” said Randy Welch, Duke Energy district manager, government and community relations.

Academy Bus serves as the Transportation Sponsor for the class, providing coach service on class days.

The Leadership Cabarrus Class of 2021 participants are:

• Jennifer Brinson: Cabarrus County Schools.

• Erin Burris: Town of Mount Pleasant.

• Kellie Cartwright: United Way of Central Carolinas.

• Dominique Clark: Cabarrus County Government.

• Amy Freeze: Habitat for Humanity Cabarrus County.

• Kevin Garay: Kannapolis City Schools.

• Larry Gourdine: UNC Charlotte.

• Phillip Graham: City of Concord.

• Starla Hatley: Cabarrus County Partnership for Children.

• Hannah Holliway: Cannon School.

• Kara Horn: Novant Health, Mint Hill Medical Center.

• Rachael Kocken: Cabarrus Arena & Events Center.

• Danielle Kuhn: Flywheel Coworking.

• Lauren Linker: Cabarrus County Government.

• Ande Lowe: Uwharrie Bank.

• Teronda McNeil-Hueitt: Rowan-Cabarrus Community College.

• Alicia McDaniel: Cabarrus Health Alliance.

• Matt Millward: Kannapolis Cannon Ballers.

• Brittany Payne: Cabarrus Rowan Community Health Centers.

• Brandon Rios: Novant Health, Mint Hill Medical Center.

• Matt Roden: Atrium Health.

• Jon Sauter: NorthEast Foundation.

• Brian Schultz: Cabarrus County Schools.

• Kayla Seigler

• Dale Shoffner: S&D Coffee and Tea.

• Mark Thompson: Cabarrus Brewing Co.

• Garrison White: Hartsell & Williams, PA.

• Jake Williams: City of Concord.

Leadership Cabarrus is celebrating its 32nd anniversary this year and has over 750 alumni since its inception.

For more information on the Leadership Cabarrus program, contact Barbi Jones at 704-782-4000, ext. 108, or

The business news you need

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

News Alerts